We are happy to announce that nominations for the 2017 Spirit Awards are in!

Please note that nominations are now closed for the 20th Annual Spirit of the Capital Youth Awards. Thank you and congratulations to all nominees, and thanks to all those who took the time to recognize a young person in their lives for the outstanding things that they do! See below for a full list of these amazing youth.

Nominators, please review the list below to verify that we have received your nomination and that the spelling of the nominee’s name is correct.

Recipients will be announced during the week of April 24th. All recipients and nominators will be contacted at this time. If you have any questions or concerns, please email us at

Congratulations to all nominees of the 2017 Spirit Awards!

First Name Last Name School
Lily Akagbosu Carleton University
Francisco Monroy Immaculata HIgh School
Rawa El Shahry Ridgmont High School
Laura Kelly St. Joseph High School
Zarin Tasneem Gloucester High School
Kaeden Seburn Lisgar Collegiate Institute
Rayan Haidar Woodroffe High School
Kimberly Clarin Woodroffe High School
Celine Debassige Immaculata High School
Vincent Nguyen University of Toronto
Nasrine Ahmed Hillcrest High School
Maya Basudde Algonquin College
Danielle Lanouette Algonquin College
Nathen Noble École secondaire catholique Franco Cité
Sabrina Bendahoud University of Ottawa
Jacob Kelk Earl of March Secondary School
Rebecca Kahindo Lester B. Pearson Catholic High School
Ryan Coyte All Saints Catholic High School
Olivia Dupuis University of Ottawa
Alicia Roy Dalhousie University
Theland Kicknosway Sir Winston Churchill Public School
Sindhiya Alwani St. Thomas More
Samuel Hickey Notre Dame High School
Victoria Ogden A.Y. Jackson Secondary School
Nikita Kamblé-Bagal Lycée Claudel
Sean Longtin St. Joseph Catholic Secondary School
Destiny Campbell St. Mark Catholic High School
Hope Hamilton Elizabeth Wyn Wood Secondary Alternate Program
Mason Xiao Ashbury High School
Emily Pierce AY Jackson Secondary School
Emilie McKeown Holy Trinity Catholic High School
Rayan Ali Longfields Davidson Heights
Serena Kam Sacred Heart Catholic High School
Moiz Lakhani Colonel By Secondary School
Ashley Robitaille St. Matthew Catholic High School
Emma Wilson
Tysen Lefebvre Sacred Heart High School
Hannah & Sophie Weider Glebe High Scool
Pablo Mhanna-Sandoval École secondaire catholique Franco Cité
Kyle Ward Redeemer Christian High School
Sanchit Gupta McGill University
Ryan Rodrigs All Saints Catholic High School
Jamie Hall Nepean High School
Lina Akkawi St. Patrick’s High School
Avesta Alani University of Ottawa
Warner Schaettgen St. Michael (Corkery) School
Justin Jarmoc Immaculata High School
Justin Grenier St. Matthew Catholic High School
Ryan Piche École élémentaire catholique Lamoureux
Amélia Sawyer-Masse École secondaire catholique Paul-Desmarais
Brogan MacDougall École secondaire catholique Marie-Rivier
Mathilde Papillon École secondaire publique De La Salle
Philippe Evraire


The Spirit Awards Selection Committee is currently reviewing all nominations and additional information. In each of the seven award categories, the Selection Committee will select two recipients for each category.  Each winner will receive a $700.00 bursary. Each recipient will also be provided with three tickets to attend the event, one for themselves and two for guests of their choice.

Any additional tickets can be purchased by clicking here! The General Admission (all ages) is $25.00.

We hope to see everyone on June 5th 2017, for the 20th Annual Spirit of the Capital Awards hosted at Ottawa City Hall.